Back in the Office

It’s only eight weeks back, but of course it now seems a lifetime ago that we wrapped up the latest VdGG tour. Alarums and excursions done, it fell to me to spend a fortnight or so sorting out the accounts and inevitable Outstanding Business. Once again, we came through OK on these fronts, which – considering the  nature of our joint enterprise and the continuing leaps of faith across many platforms which underlie it – remains a source of mild surprise but also of great satisfaction. Do right and you’ll be done right by. Naturally, there’s an enormous amount of paddling under the water which goes on from everyone involved but, once again, we got there.

Various bits of paddling on my own behalf took up most of the remainder of July. The reality of being a working writer/musician has always been that Business has got to be taken care of  and in my view that’s always been right and proper. “I’m only concerned with my art” would be a motto associated with the outlet for that art getting closed down sooner rather than later and/or with the Artist losing track of whatever passes for normality in whatever a normal life might be….

The trick – *if* it’s a trick – is to be absolutely clear about when one’s doing business and when one’s doing Art. If they’re kept apart from each other then both should be able to get along. I hope I’ve been pretty clear over the years that in order to keep going the eye’s got to be kept on the ball and that there’s no shame in that. In any event, I’ll leave the results of my July paddling for another day.

August arrived and – shock – I went on holiday.  No, I mean, I really stopped for a couple of weeks. No internet, no mails, no work at all. And what better place for an old school retreat to simpler times than North Norfolk? A long way away from anywhere in time/travel terms and all the better for it. It’s not (surprise, surprise!) that easy for me to slow down, calm down, but this time I managed it. And the lack of internet, that constant need-to-update/be-updated was fantastic. Sometimes I think I should take at least a week-long retreat from the voracious onslaught of Online each month in any case. Oh, but the paddling might suffer? Well, when I finally logged on again it was illuminating to find that, actually, there was nothing of urgency at all awaiting me.

And so to County Durham for two days of the Ashes. (I make no apologies for, once again, bringing sport – and for the most of the planet particularly arcane sport – into things.) Hey, we’re spur of the moment chaps, so we’d only bought our tickets for this game two years ago, the moment they went on sale. Neither the cricket nor County Durham was a disappointment. As if. And cricket is just such a wonderful game. Well, it is now that, finally, we win some matches!

Finally, then, back home, the Ashes won (I’d watched every ball of coverage and also – thanks Adam – had a day out at Lord’s) I got back to That Solo Album.

This has been a long, long process and still has a few weeks at least to run. I’m still diving in and out, playing minute parts which may or may not survive and then switching to attempts to get the big picture. It’s flying solo and actually it’s by far the most complicated of the various things I continue to do.

For that I’m thankful. Stuff continues to be done, to be found, to be honed. I’m back in the Office.

 


25 Comments on “Back in the Office”

  1. What a information of un-ambiguity and preserveness of
    valuable experience on the topic of unpredicted emotions.

  2. Very descriptive blog, I enjoyed that a lot.
    Will there be a part 2?

  3. Just wish to say your article is as surprising.

    The clearness in your post is just great and i could assume you’re an expert on this subject.

    Well with your permission let me to grab your feed
    to keep updated with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please continue the gratifying
    work.

  4. The racquet plays great from the baseline,
    while the open string pattern helps to create a lot of spin on groundstrokes and
    serves. It’s light enough to whip around quickly to generate topspin, slice or drive the ball flat and deep.

    Tennis is a high intensity sport and it is easy to get hot and sweaty while playing Tennis
    so it is important the clothing is made out of materials that allow air to circulate well.

  5. That is very attention-grabbing, You’re an overly skilled blogger.

    I’ve joined your rss feed and stay up for searching for
    extra of your great post. Additionally, I have shared your website in my social networks

  6. Article Source: more information please visit our HIPAA Training Courses website.
    The new i – OS7 allows you to click the volume DOWN button to focus when you use the camera.
    Completing the three battery stages actually lengthens your battery lifespan.

  7. If you have children and they need to sleep early, you are not worried since the have their own rooms in Paris
    apartments. One can choose these suitable rental options as per their personal need
    and demands. For full information on the hotel’s MICE offerings please visit:.

  8. They know what it is for, but sometimes just pick not to use a specific one.
    Kittens are usually vaccinated at 9 and 12 weeks and
    you have to wait a further week before letting them
    out. For anyone who is not certain about any type of cat, just check at
    its forehead and seek a M symbol.

  9. Unquestionably consider that that you said. Your favorite reason seemed to be on
    the net the easiest thing to take note of. I say to you, I certainly get annoyed at the same time as people think about issues that they plainly don’t realize about.
    You controlled to hit the nail upon the top as well as outlined out the entire thing with no need side effect , other
    folks could take a signal. Will likely be back to get more.
    Thanks

  10. Johnny Blaze is still coping with his curse as the devil’s hunter.

    You can drive or walk to a store, pick up a movie and return it when you’re done.
    Nandamuri balakrishna and Director Boyapati Srinu had
    an blockbuster SIMHA which made a huge collection in
    the box office.

  11. Your mode of telling everything in this paragraph
    is truly fastidious, all be able to without difficulty know it, Thanks a lot.

  12. Hi there! I just want to give a huge thumbs up for the
    nice information you’ve got right here on this post.
    I will probably be coming back to your blog for extra soon.

  13. Oh my goodness! Incredible article dude! Thank you, However I am encountering difficulties with your RSS.
    I don’t know the reason why I can’t join it. Is there
    anybody else having the same RSS problems? Anybody who knows the solution will you kindly respond?
    Thanks!!

  14. I enjoy what you guys tend to be up too. This kind of clever work and coverage!
    Keep up the awesome works guys I’ve added you guys to blogroll.

  15. This ѡeb site certainly has all the information and factѕ I
    ѡanted cօncerning this subject and didn’t know who to
    ask.

  16. Hello, i think that i saw you visited my blog thus i
    came to “return the favor”.I’m trying to find things to enhance my website!I suppose its ok to use
    some of your ideas!!

  17. Peter Pyser says:

    It’s good to know you recorded every live performance. I hope the next live album comes out sooner than later.
    And, as Nigel reminded the Rockpalast DVD, what about the whole 2005 tour?
    It would be wonderful if you could put for sale a usb drive with all the 2005 performances in lossless format (flac or wav). I would definitely buy it.
    I can already imagine it…. a black rectangular usb with a big V….

  18. Thank you for sharing this information to us. Experts from http://www.theoffice-uk.co.uk also suggest that a good office location is a big advantage.

  19. J F says:

    This reminds me of the classic debate we had in the PH Society at Exeter University in, I think it was, 2002: Which was the last truly great PH solo album? That is if, and this was only just a majority view, that the last few years had shown a slight decline in quality. Not a Samsom and Deliah abrupt shaving but more a Learesque lasitude. Several held the line at “A Black Box”, at least two opined “Fireships”. There were many curate’s eggs.
    As I passed through the dissipation of post graduation, liasions grew less dangerous and more frank. I remember a drunken (Jagermeister Bombs) tirade at Nottingham’s Rock City at an early Foals gig when “S” claimed Clutch was as relevant as CITSOTN!
    We will never resolve these equations nor square the circle. Nevertheless, I am now 34 and maybe those golden promises are behind me. Maybe I auger false hope or true doubt but the anticipation of new PH: …. it totally LOADS me man!!

  20. Nigel says:

    Any chance of a DVD of solo TV performances? There is the odd bootleg of stuff but not the Playaway appearance (although I have heard it on a cassette). I believe you had it on Betamax? why not put it up on YouTube?

    What ever happened to the VDGG Rockpalast DVD?

  21. Vox inVerse says:

    Welcome back in the office, and then back to Tokyo later this month!

  22. Mark Penny says:

    I was just trying to comment positive when a blank in my memory occurred and could not sign on to this blasted site!!!! Oh well…..
    I believe this type of forgetfulness has been dealt with on TRISECTOR…..but the song title escapes me now….All the best from Montreal. 🙂

  23. Dave Srevens says:

    glad to see you are rested and ready for another vdgg tour …..perhaps?

  24. North Norfolk eh? I hope you saw the Alan Partridge movie!

    And I concur entirely with the sentiments about the Art / Business dichotomy – and of course – the beauty of Cricket.

  25. Mikayel Abazyan says:

    Such an inspiring post, breathing with life and energy!
    Thanks, and good luck!


Leave a Reply

