Pulled up short

I’m sorry to have to report that after a short illness my dear friend Stuart Gordon died late last night, 28th August.

I had so many adventures with him in music and in life and his loss is nigh unbearable.

I have no other words for now.


61 Comments on “Pulled up short”

  1. It is almost incredible that in the era of instant global communication I found out about this only three days ago. Also, it was by chance. I was incommunicado at the end of August and missed the news completely.
    I was speechless, because SG was a treasured guest on my band’s second album when we mixed it at Terra Incognita back in January 1994. He played the most amazing violin part on the last track.
    He was a very easy-going guy and one of the funniest pub companion one could hope for. He will be sorely missed, and although we had lost contact in the last few years I have the fondest memory of him. pH, Fabrizio shares the same feelings, as you sure imagine.

  2. pureambient says:

    I saw you and Stuart playing together with Nic, a one of the LA shows, and I was so happy that I got a chance to hear him play. I loved what he did on your albums, but the live work is where he really shone, and his use of effects was startling and innovative. I thought he was a great player, and an underrated one, two. I was very very sad on the day I first heard, but somehow this post, found on a never read WordPress feed, has really affected me tonight, I am glad I saw it so I can raise one more glass to the memory of the good Stuart Gordon…thanks for your words.

  3. Geoffrey Reddin says:

    A great loss. I shall remember so many performances. The grin on his face when he played. The 50 different songs concert in Hammersmith immediately come to mind. I shal raise a glass to his memory this evening. It is sad to know that we shall never hear PH/SG together again. Rest peacefully Stuart and thank you.

  4. Marc says:

    Dear Peter,

    I am very sad to hear of the untimely passing of Stuart Gordon. Whilst never having the pleasure of seeing him play live, I have always enjoyed his beautiful playing and intuitive accompaniment to your music, you wove magic together.

    My deepest sympathies to Stuart’s family, and to yourself, at this stark and painful time.

    Marc

  5. Peter Gold says:

    Please excuse the lateness of my comments, I have been on holiday and away from the digital world. This really is dreadful news, We have lost a great musician and man. On stage he had great presence, his face always showing the emotion of what he was playing and he had that wonderful smile. My favourite memories of seeing him live were his beautiful playing on Ysabel’s Dance and by complete contrast his violent playing on Like Veronica was breath taking. My sincerest condolences to his family and to you Peter. Stuart Gordon has left the stage for the last time, but his memory will live forever RIP.

  6. Chris Blackford says:

    Very sad to hear of Stuart Gordon’s death. His atmospheric strings added so much to Peter’s compositions. I entertained a fantasy that Stuart might some day become a member of Van der Graaf Generator and expand that band’s soundworld with his sensitive playing. Sadly, that will never happen. But we still have the wonderful Veracious album to treasure. RIP.

  7. K says:

    Violin now mute;
    Like Cheshire cat receding,
    Joyous grin remains.

    K.

  8. Steve Pearce says:

    I to knew Stuart and had many a great time and a few beers with him here in Bristol saw him play with Peter many times and his passing is a great shock to me. All I can say is Hare Krishna to you Stuart you lit up the stage with your playing

  9. pieter overduin says:

    from room temperature to veracious. i loved you guys playing together live. and always secretly hoped for a graham smith kind of vdg adventure to happen.. very sorry indeed… my condoleances to you, peter.

  10. stuartelden says:

    This is very sad news. I saw him in concert many times with you – from the RFH on the Fireships tour, as part of ‘The Noise’, the Quartet and many times as a duo. I met him once in The Bell pub in Bath and he was very friendly to me. My condolences to you, friends and family.

  11. Peter N says:

    So sad News. The concerts with Stuart were great all the time, I loved his playing and he was such a lovely Person. Very sad. RIP dear Stuart we will never Forget you.

  12. Stuart says:

    A huge loss. I was shocked to hear of Stuart’s untimely death. I first saw him play with Peter in Paris in 2006 and the two of them interwove their music to create a magical atmosphere. Since then I’ve seen him many times, with Keith Warmington (and sometimes Kit Morgan) in/around Bristol and recently as part of the Steve Tilston Trio, after their mini tour of the ‘Happenstance’ album. Whenever I’ve seen him play he has managed to spellbind the audience with his feel for the music and rapport for those on stage with him – he was a special talent.

    Stuart was a gentleman (and a gentle man) and I am privileged to have befriended him, through Keith. I last saw him play at my 50th birthday in March this year and my memories of that lovely surprise event are now so much more poignant.

    RIP Stuart

  13. Frank Remus says:

    My condolences to you and your music.

  14. ben says:

    Sorry to hear it, my condolences! Great musician.

  15. nikos says:

    My condolences Peter.We will never forget his appearance in your concerts here in Greece .He was a great musician.

  16. Max says:

    a great man … a great musician

  17. Anonymous says:

    So cruel. We have many good memories, both musically and personally. Love and strength from Bert and Invy

  18. Joe McLean says:

    Sorry to hear it, my sympathies.

  19. Alejandro says:

    My deepest sympathies to you, Peter, to Stuart´s family, and to everyone else who appreciates good music and good musicians. I have to say ‘thanks’ to you and Stuart for that incredible concert you gave in México City in February 2001.

  20. YFG says:

    Too soon…
    His great performances will stay long in my mind as fond memory.
    Thank you so much, Stuart, RIP.
    Please take care, Peter.

  21. jjsaroka says:

    my sympathies to you and of course to Stuart’s family and friends. i have some great memories of seeing him with you (and Nic, RIP) on the tour which was released as “roomtemperature”

  22. Michel E says:

    So sorry to hear about this. So many unique memories of Stuart and you on stage over the years… RIP Stuart, and thank you.

  23. Anonymous says:

    So sorry to hear this, Peter. Stuart was such a wonderful musician with such a great presence every time I saw the two of you play together. The two of you had a very special chemistry on stage. My thoughts go out for you and Stuart’s family.

  24. Very sorry to hear this, I remember a great show in New York 1999

  25. kevin flaherty says:

    YES ITS SAD TO HEAR OF THE DEATH OF STAURT NOW I HEAR THE GLEN CORNICK BASS PLAYR FROM JETHRO PASSED AS WELL. SAD DAY FOR THE MUSIC WORLD. TRULY 2 TRAGIC LOSSES.

  26. Ólafur Auðunsson (Iceland) says:

    That´s a sad news.It is like fews day´s since I saw you two on stage in Fabrik Hamburg( 2003).That concert is unforgettable.He was also such a big part of your records.
    Mínar dýpstu samúðarkveðjur. .My deepest condolences.
    Ólafur (Iceland)

  27. Jasper says:

    Sad to hear this. What a loss.
    My condolences

  28. I am very sorry to hear that Peter and my thoughts are with you.

  29. Pato Giavedoni says:

    Fuerza, Peter!
    Un abrazo desde Santa Fe, Argentina.

  30. Palinurus says:

    I am disolated.
    I am with you Peter, and with your families anf with the the graeat spirit of Stuart…so many years listening all together….
    A shame!!!!
    But…the immortality could be gained with the honmestity, the art and the love over all….
    Hold on!!!!!

  31. Clive Price says:

    Very sad news Peter.

  32. Ricardo says:

    Very sad news, Peter. I will always treasure that fantastic concert the two of you gave at the QEH on March 17th 2001. His understanding of your music was astonishing, and a terrific fiddler he was too. I grew up listening to his viola playing on ”Antoine” by the Incredible String Band, a few years before I even knew of VdGG or you: he thus did his bit in shaping my young musical mind.
    Goodbye to a fellow violinist. Rest in peace.

  33. Gareth Pricd says:

    Terrible news. Thoughts with you and his family.

  34. A great musician and a very fine person ! Met him twice after a show… Veracious will be sounding different now ! RIP Stuart !

  35. My condolences Peter.

    I only met Stuart once. He was playing with the Keith Warmington Band at the Mission Theatre in Bath.
    I had arrived early. I will never forget that he took the time to come over to me and chat before before the performance.
    A lovely man, a great musician and a very sad loss.

    Robert Drower

  36. Kevin says:

    Stunned. A deep shock. Loved Hoolies playing and live with pH it was clear they had a deep rapport.
    Thoughts and best wishes to all his family and loved ones.

  37. Maurice Lynn says:

    Stuart was electrifying on stage and unbelievably in empathy with your compositions, Peter. Farewell. Hoolie: you gave us so much. Requiescas in pace. And now to spin “Veracious” with more than one tear in the eye…

  38. Mikayel says:

    He was one of those I never met in person but who found his place deep into my heart.
    We are left with lots of good music and good memories….

  39. A lost of a great musician!
    My thoughts are with you Peter, and his family…
    My condolences.
    Music is the best!

    Francisco Trindade

  40. Anonymous says:

    I understand your feelings. I, as music lovers , will mis him too. But you as a long term companion in music lost a friend . I wish you the best. Let us remember him in the music he left us. I will remember him by listen toe his over and over again and celibrate life….

  41. origijan says:

    that is terribly sad news Peter, & such a shock.

    my heartfelt condolences on losing such a special friend. kind regards ~ jan

    >________________________________ > From: Sofasound >To: jan.lunsford@yahoo.com >Sent: Friday, 29 August 2014, 17:16 >Subject: [New post] Pulled up short > > > > WordPress.com >sofasound posted: “I’m sorry to have to report that after a short illness my dear friend Stuart Gordon died late last night, 28th August. I had so many adventures with him in music and in life and his loss is nigh unbearable. I have no other words for now.” >

  42. Ian says:

    Having spent some great times with Stuart, I share your loss and pain. He was such a lovely man!

  43. Gervasio says:

    ” This is the life and we’ve only time
    to be alive right now.”

    RIP Stuart.

  44. Very sorry to hear this – but he was a kick-ass musician, one of the best at what he did. You can’t buy such a life…

  45. CRAIG LOGAN says:

    Very sorry for your loss .

    ________________________________

  46. Simon Wenham says:

    So sorry to read this very sad news.

    I lost one of my best friends this year, it leaves a huge hole in your life.

    I will always treasure the evening we saw you at the Queen Elizabeth Hall when the two of you played a marvellous concert then were joined by Hugh, Guy and Dave.

    My thoughts are with you and Stuart’s family.

  47. Anonymous says:

    end of an era… very sad indeed… even more poignant I was listening to him as this news came through.

  48. Anonymous says:

    Stuart has joined Nic in Heaven….

    I’ll never forget them.

    Love.

    Renato Schifano

  49. Bruno says:

    So sorry for your loss.

    Sincere condolences.

    Bruno

  50. Anonymous says:

    So sorry for your loss.

    Sincere condolences.

    Bruno

  51. Peter Donovan says:

    Dear Peter,

    It’s terrible news, I have known Stuart for many years, is was shocking to get the email of his rapid impending demise, just awful news. He was a great bloke, superb musician and always fine company. As my good friend Andy Davis said, ” A light has gone out”

    Peter Donovan

  52. Anonymous says:

    Sorry Peter,
    I knew Stuart for many years too, a great bloke, wonderful spirit, it was so very, very sad to get the email of his terrible swift decline, as my good friend Andy Davis said. A light has gone out…

    Peter Donovan

  53. Per Lundberg says:

    Very sad news indeed. Many thoughts to Mr Gordon and his family, and my heartfelt sympathies to you as well, Mr Hammill.

  54. Mike Spindloe says:

    Peter:

    I’m so sorry to hear this. I’ll never forget that irrepressible grin he wore on stage with you.

    All the best, Mike

  55. Bob Hadfield says:

    What terrible, sad news. I have seen you and he play together many times and was always struck by the rapport and understanding the two of you showed on stage. Sad to know it will never happen again. Deepest sympathy to his family.

  56. Andy Lewis says:

    Oh my. That’s awful.

    My condolences.

  57. Charlotte Hendry says:

    That’s devastating news, Peter… My thoughts are with his family. RIP.

  58. Anonymous says:

    Hi Peter !

    I’m so sad too.

    I understand you.

    Renato

  59. David says:

    Dear Peter, that is simply devastating news. His playing has been such a significant part of this audient’s life. Love, Lemming

  60. sopass says:

    I understand so much

    Love to him and you Pascal> Message du 29/08/14 18:16 > De : “Sofasound” > A : undazir@orange.fr > Copie à : > Objet : [New post] Pulled up short > >WordPress.com sofasound posted: “I’m sorry to have to report that after a short illness my dear friend Stuart Gordon died late last night, 28th August. I had so many adventures with him in music and in life and his loss is nigh unbearable. I have no other words for now.”


Leave a Reply

